LEADing A Legacy

By Chris Glenn

My name is Chris Glenn and I am a Junior Information Technology major. One of the things that I often think about is my legacy here at Florida State. People always talk about what their mark will be on FSU and we have the hashtag #leaveyourlegacy but it can be trivial to find that certain thing that you can provide that can change your university, college, major or a student organization.

In trying to find what my legacy could be I sought out several different organizations, many of them outside of my major and CCI. This year, I became interested in something bigger and I attended an informational session for University Ambassadors. Now the University Ambassadors work within the Visitor Center at FSU and we provide tours and services to a number of people; mainly prospective students and families, alumni, and various groups throughout the year. Over the last six months I have undergone a training process where I learned an array of information about the university and I now present that information to visitors every day. I have become an extension of the university; I’m trusted to be a reliable source for information and a responsible representative of the university.

IMG_4194

As it pertains to my legacy, this opportunity has given me the ability to touch other’s lives; students that decide to go to college because of my tour and the experience that I share with them; or the first generation college student, like me, who chooses FSU. And of course the student that chooses FSU over UF. This gives me great drive and appreciation for this position. In order to make the most out of this opportunity, it requires a strong sense of leadership, not only to physically lead a tour, but to be confident in your knowledge of the university and because of the prestige of the position. In most cases, University Ambassadors are the first contact with Florida State University that a lot of students have. It’s important to understand the magnitude of this and how impactful it can be.

This is my legacy and I am incredibly appreciative of the opportunity to leave my legacy here at Florida State University.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment